IGM Colloquium: Building Better Batteries


Event details

Date and time 27.11.2018 12:1513:15  
Place and room
Speaker Professor Vanessa Wood, https://made.ee.ethz.ch/people/prof--vanessa-wood0.html
Category Conferences - Seminars

Lithium ion batteries are multiscale systems, and their performance, cycle life, and safety depend critically on their structure and the homogeneity of the structure from the nanometer to centimeter length scales. In this talk, I will explain how we use a combination of experimental and computational tools to quantify structure of lithium ion battery components across multiple length scales and understand the influence of this structure on performance. We have further pioneering a number of electron, neutron, and x-ray based techniques to study and visualize dynamical phenomena and degradation mechanisms of lithium ion batteries. By better understanding and quantifying the interplay between physical and electrochemical processes, we are able to improve battery performance, extend lifespan, and improve safety through innovative chemistry and manufacturing.

Vanessa Wood holds a Bachelors in Science from Yale University in Applied Physics (2005), a Masters in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2007), and a PhD in Electrical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2009). Her PhD work, with Prof. Vladimir Bulović, was focused on the development of quantum dot LED technology. From 2010-2011 she was a postdoc in Department of Materials Science and Engineering at MIT, working with Professors Yet Ming Chiang and Craig Carter on lithium ion battery flow cell technology.
In 2011, she was appointed as an assistant professor in Department of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zürich). She received tenure in 2014 and holds the chair in Materials and Device Engineering. She won the 2014 Science Prize in Electrochemistry endowed by BASF and Volkswagen Group and the 2018 Outstanding Young Investigator Award from the Materials Research Society.