Women in Physics Career Symposium


Event details

Date 01.07.2022
Hour 08:30
Speaker • JAMIE GLOOR, Competence Center for Diversity and Inclusion, University of St. Gallen (Keynote)
• GILLIAN BUTCHER, International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), University of Leicester
• CLAIRE DONNELLY, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids in Dresden, Germany
• JENNIFER SCHOBER, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne 
• CHIARA MARIOTTI, Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, Torino, Italy and CERN
• ANA AKRAP, Université de Fribourg
Category Conferences - Seminars

The goal of this symposium is to boost women in the early career stage starting from undergraduate up to postdoctoral studies in building a professional and mentoring network in physics. The event will feature a series of career talks, which will provide information on navigating a career in physics from the personal perspective of invited speakers covering several career levels. This will be complemented by a podium discussion, in which participants can ask questions and share experiences, advice, and ideas. The event will feature several networking opportunities such as extended coffee breaks and a dinner during which participants can get to know each other with the aim of forming a growing mentoring network.
We invite female participants from all career levels to register for this event. Suggestions for desired mentors can be made during registration. In addition, we are asking interested colleagues willing to act as mentors to register, where we also encourage male colleagues to contribute. The event is sponsored by the University of Zurich, the Paul Scherrer Institute, the Swiss Physical Society, the Swiss Academy of Natural Sciences (SCNAT) and the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP). Further contributions are most welcome.


Practical information

  • Informed public
  • Registration required


  • Swiss Physical Society


  • Organizing Committee Cristina Botta (UZH), Lea Caminada (UZH-PSI), Ellen Fogh (EPFL), Marc Janoschek (UZH-PSI), Christine Klauser (PSI), Klaus Kirch (ETHZ-PSI), Natalie Lerch-Pieper (PSI), Hubertus Luetkens (PSI), Marina Marinkovic (ETHZ) Contact: Marc Janoschek