Go to main site


Bertarelli Neuroscience Symposium 2019


Event details

Date and time 05.07.2019 13:3019:30  
Place and room
Speaker Catalyst Projects and keynote speakers.
Category Conferences - Seminars

Coordinated by Bertarelli Chair in Neuroprosthetic Technology and Director of EPFL's Center for Neuroprosthetics, Professor Stéphanie Lacour, the Symposium will feature presentations from the five Catalyst Projects at Campus Biotech, addresses from keynote speakers and a cocktail party to close.

Please register HERE !  Registration is free but mandatory. Deadline July 1st.

Keynote speakers

Towards the Optical Cochlear Implant: Optogenetic Stimulation of the Auditory Pathway
Tobias Moser, University Medical Center Goettingen

Prof. Dr. Tobias Moser is a neuroscientist, otologist, and audiologist at the Göttingen Campus. Since 2015, he directs the Institute for Auditory Neuroscience at the University Medical Center Göttingen and leads research groups at the German Primate Center and the Max-Planck-Institutes for Biophysical Chemistry and Experimental Medicine. His main areas of research are synaptic coding and processing of auditory information as well as innovative approaches to the restoration of hearing in the deaf.

The design and deployment of bioelectronic platforms for translational neuroscience
Tim Denison, Oxford University

Prof. Tim Denison holds a join appointment in Engineering Science and Clinical Neurosciences at Oxford, where he explores the fundamentals of physiologic closed-loop systems. Prior to that, Tim was a Technical Fellow at Medtronic PLC and Vice President of Research & Core Technology for the Restorative Therapies Group, where he helped oversee the design of next generation neural interface and algorithm technologies for the treatment of chronic neurological disease. In 2012, he was awarded membership to the Bakken Society, Medtronic’s highest technical and scientific honor, and in 2014 he was awarded the Wallin leadership award, becoming only the second person in Medtronic history to receive both awards.  In 2015, he was elected to the College of Fellows for the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). Tim received an A.B. in Physics from The University of Chicago, and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from MIT.  He recently completed his MBA and was named a Wallman Scholar at Booth, The University of Chicago. 

More information and updates at https://cnp.epfl.ch/bertarelli-neuroscience-symposium/