NMC 2019 - STI Workshop on Nanomechanical Sensors


Event details

Date 19.06.2019 21.06.201908:0019:00  
Speaker Michael L. Roukes (Caltech), Andrew Cleland (U. Chicago), Scott Manalis (MIT), John E. Sader (U. Melbourne), Beth Pruitt (UCSB), Javier Tamayo (CSIC), Adrian Bachtold (ICFO), Chris Degen (ETHZ), Johannes Fink (IST Austria), Silvan Schmid (TUW), Junchul Lee (KAIST), Cindy Regal (JILA), Anja Boisen (DTU), Paola Cappellaro (MIT), Rachel McKendry (UCL), Eva Weig (U. Konstanz), Armin Knoll (IBM), Matt Matheny (Caltech), Annalisa De Pastina (EPFL), ...
Category Conferences - Seminars

Nanomechanics was born around 35 years ago with the invention of the STM and AFM. It was in the mid-90s when the first nanoelectromechanical devices were fabricated. Since then, nanomechanical systems have been slowly gaining track in the research community and now have become very important in many different applications. The nanomechanical sensors workshop exists since 2003 and has been organized every year gathering the most prominent figures in the nanomechanical sensing community. In the 2019 edition we want to focus our workshop in two of the most promising fields: quantum and bio-sensing. We are putting together an exciting program with 8 keynote speakers and more than 10 invited speakers of the top international tier. We expect to attract around 150-200 people from all over the world. Very importantly, in our even we will put in contact two apparently very separate communities as are quantum and bio-sensing communities. The main objective during the workshop will be to explore the synergies between them. The School of Engineering of EPFL supports the organization of scientific workshops on the EPFL campus on topics of heightened interest at the forefront of research. These workshops attract highly visible and internationally recognizable speakers.


Practical information

  • Informed public
  • Registration required


  • Guillermo Villanueva, Tobias Kippenberg, Sebastian Gautsch

Event broadcasted in